How Do We Know Chips are Ḥalāl?

Answered according to Hanafi Fiqh by Mathabah.org
Answered by Mufti Muhammed Bholat

Question:

My son was asking me what types of Doritos are ḥalāl. I told him I’ll get back and I went to the Frito-Lay website and they put a few there and I did not trust them. How can I know for sure.

Answer:

بسم الله الرحمن الرحيم

وصلى الله على النبي الأمي

Eating what is Ḥalāl and pure is a divine obligation and a meritorious practice. As parents and guardians it is our responsibility to provide Ḥalāl for our family and subordinates.

In order to verify regarding a products and its ingredients, one may only refer to the sources available to him, which in our case would be to refer to the website or contact the customer relation department.

Based on the information provided on the Frito-Lay website, we can ascertain which products do not contain pork enzymes or animal by-products. In our estimation it would be fairly reliable to accept the details provided by the company. As long as no further doubtful ingredients are present, one may consume it. One may also refer to the kosher products list and thus conclude that they do not contain any animal by-products. If one does not trust the information provided, there may be no other way to verify the ingredients used, and one must therefore totally refrain as a precautionary measure.

And Allāh Knows Best

Sidebar



Subscribe To Our Newsletter

Subscribe To Our Newsletter

Join our mailing list to receive curated Islamic Q&A every week!

You have Successfully Subscribed!