Vitamin D3 in Milk

Answered according to Hanafi Fiqh by Mahmoodiyah

Question:

Assalamualaikum

I read some where that

“If there are some compounds (like gelatine or any animal by product) in any food, which have gone through a complete chemical process that changed the essence of those compounds then consuming such food or thing has been allowed by scholars. If those compounds, do not change and they are forbidden in their original state of being then, it is Haraam to eat or use such thing”

Now in Milk vitamin D3 is added which came from animal skin (or hair). Can we use such milk? How can I know whether the milk is chemicalized and Halaal to use or not? I am very confused because milk in USA contains vitamin D3.

Thanks a lot

Wassalaam


Answer:

 

                  

 

What you have quoted and read is correct.

Regarding vitamin D3, you should contact the manufacturer and inquire as to whether a chemical change takes place in the processing of D3 from animal skin or not. If they prove that a chemical change takes place and you are fully satisfied with their research, then you are allowed to use it.

And Allah Ta’ala knows best

Mufti Muhammad Ashraf

Darul Iftaa

Jameah Mahmoodiyah

Springs

                  

25 April 2005

16 Rabee’ul Awwal 1426

Facebooktwitterpinteresttumblrmail
Sidebar