Is Red Wine Vinegar and Balsamic Vinegar Halal?

Answered according to Hanafi Fiqh by IslamicPortal.co.uk

Are Red Wine Vinegar and Balsamic vinegar Halal?

بسم الله الرحمن الرحیم

Ads by Muslim Ad Network

Answer

Vinegar is Halal including if the source is alcohol because it undergoes complete transformation and does not intoxicate. This is the general rule, however, one must ensure that total transformation has taken place and no alcohol has been added to the vinegar later, as this sometimes occurs.

قال النبي صلی الله علیه وسلم: نعم الأدم أو الإدام الخل، رواہ مسلم (۲۰٥۱). قال محمد بن الحسن الشیباني: قال أبو حنیفة رضي الله عنه: لا بأس بالخمر یكون للمسلم أن یصب فیها الماء أو یطرح فیها الملح فیصیر خلا فیؤكل ذلك الخل أو یباع، كذا في الحجة علی أهل المدینة (٣/۸). وقال القدوري في مختصره (ص ۲۰٤): وإذا تخللت الخمر حلت سواء صارت خلا بنفسها أو بشيء طرح فيها ولا يكره تخليلها. وقال السرخسي في المبسوط (٢٤/٢٢): تخليل الخمر بالعلاج جائز عندنا، ويحل تناول الخل بعد التخليل، انتهى. وراجع البدائع (٥/۱۱۳)۔

فائدة: كتاب الأشربة من الأصل لمحمد بن الحسن مفقود، نبه عليه محققه في المقدمة (م/١١٥)، وتلخيصه موجود في الكافي للحاكم الشهيد وشرحه: المبسوط للسرخسي۔

Allah knows best

Yusuf Shabbir

27 Rajab 1440 / 2 April 2019

Approved by: Mufti Shabbir Ahmed and Mufti Muhammad Tahir

Sidebar