Hogan’s Mulled Cider is not Halal

Answered according to Hanafi Fiqh by IslamicPortal.co.uk

Is Hogan’s Mulled Cider Halal?

بسم الله الرحمن الرحیم

Answer

Hogan’s Mulled Cider is not Halal. We have verbally confirmed with the company that the drink is an alcoholic beverage with spices and flavourings. Further, an email dated 28 January 2019 from the company states, “Hogan’s Mulled Cider contains alcohol at 4% abv (alcohol by volume). The ingredients are cider apple juice, apple juice, spices, malic acid and potassium metabisulphite.”

قال الله تعالى: إنما الخمر والميسر والأنصاب والأزلام رجس من عمل الشيطان فاجتنبوه لعلكم تفلحون. وقال تعالى: يسألونك عن الخمر والميسر، قل فيهما إثم كبير ومنافع للناس وإثمهما أكبر من نفعهما. وقال عمر: أما بعد، أيها الناس إنه نزل تحريم الخمر، وهي من خمسة من العنب والتمر والعسل والحنطة والشعير، والخمر ما خامر العقل، رواه البخاري (٤١٦٩). وقال النبي صلى الله عليه وسلم: كل مسكر حرام، رواه البخاري (٤٣٤٣ و ٦١٢٤ و ٧١٧٢)۔

Allah knows best

Yusuf Shabbir

24 Jumādā al-Ūlā 1440 / 30 January 2019

Approved by: Mufti Shabbir Ahmed and Mufti Muhammad Tahir

Facebooktwitterpinteresttumblrmail
Sidebar