Bovine Gelatine

Answered according to Hanafi Fiqh by


Is gelatine Halal?



Assalāmu ‘Alaykum wa raḥmatullāhi wa barakātuh

If a Ḥalāl animal is slaughtered in conformity with Sharī’ah, the gelatine derived from its skin will be permissible. However, if the Ḥalāl animal is not slaughtered according to Sharī’ah, then only the gelatine derived from the bones will be permissible.

Generally, in South Africa bovine gelatine is not permissible due to the following reasons:

1) The cattle are not slaughtered Islamically.

2) The gelatine is made from the skin, and not the bones.

Thus, the bovine gelatine of South Africa is not permissible.

However, there are other countries such as Malaysia etc., where it is ensured that the cattle are slaughtered Islamically. Thus the bovine gelatine from those countries will be Ḥalāl.

And Allaah Ta’aala knows best
Ismail Moosa (Mufti)
Iftaa Department,
Euro-Sunni & Islamic Research and Welfare Academy