1

Sugar Alcohol

Answered according to Hanafi Fiqh by Darulihsan.com
Prev Question
Next Question

Q: Sugar alcohol is used as an artificial flavor in several cake mixes. Is it Halal or not?


A: Haamidaw wa Musalliyaa

In terms of information at our disposal, sugar alcohols are permissible for Halal consumption. The said alcohols occur naturally in plants. Some of them are extracted from plants e.g. sorbitol from corn syrup and mannitol from seaweed, but they are mostly manufactured from sugars and starches. Maltitol, xylitol, and sorbitol are all sugar alcohols.

And Allah Ta’ala Knows Best

Shafiq Jakhura (Mufti)
Fatwa Dept.

This answer was collected from DarulIhsan.com. It’s the official website of Darul Ihsan, which is an Islamic organisation (PBO) based in Durban, South Africa.

Sidebar