Gelatin from Halal Animals

Answered according to Hanafi Fiqh by Darulihsan.com

Gelatin from Halal Animals

Q: I wanted to know if gelatin from Halal animals is permissible to eat.


A: Haamidaw wa Musalliyaa

Gelatin acquired from Halal animals that have been slaughtered in the Halal manner is indeed Halal. As for the gelatin derived from Halal animals that have not been slaughtered according to Islamic rites, there is a difference of opinion among Ulama with regards to whether it is Halal or not.

In view of this difference, it is best to abstain from such gelatin.

And Allah Ta’ala Knows Best

Shafiq Jakhura (Mufti)
Fatwa Dept.

Facebooktwitterredditpinterestmail
Sidebar