Is a dry fish halal or haram?

Answered according to Hanafi Fiqh by DarulIftaBirmingham


Answered by: Maulana Shadman Ahmed​

Ads by Muslim Ad Network

Ads by Muslim Ad Network


 


Question


Assalamualaikum


Is a dry fish halal or haram?


 


بِسْمِ اللهِ الرَّحْمنِ الرَّحِيْم


In the name of Allah, the Most Gracious, the Most Merciful 


Answer:


 


If the innards [intestines and other impurities] of the fish are taken out before drying the fish, then it is not dislikable to eat the dry fish. If the innards are not taken out before drying the fish, then there is a difference of opinion. Some scholars say it is makruh [disliked] and some say that it is not makruh. Thus it would be better to stay out of the difference and stay away from eating dry fish that was dried with its innards.[1]


 


Only Allah knows best


Written by Maulana Shadman Ahmed


Checked and approved by Mufti Mohammed Tosir Miah


Darul Ifta Birmingham


 



[1] Kitab al-Nawazil, volume 14, page 408-409, Dar al-Isha`at


Sidebar



Subscribe To Our Newsletter

Subscribe To Our Newsletter

Join our mailing list to receive curated Islamic Q&A every week!

You have Successfully Subscribed!