Can you please clarify your Fatwa on Soy Lecithin? [Available at: http://www.askimam.org/public/question_detail/27496 ]

Answered according to Hanafi Fiqh by AskOurImam.com

Salam,

From the fatwa

“If the Soy Lecithin is extracted from vegetables (plant based), then it will be permissible and Halal. However, if the soy lecithin is derived from non-plant based sources such as animal based, then there are many factors to consider before determining the permissibility of such a product, for example, method of slaughter.”

Isn’t Soy Lecithin always derived from Soy and hence plant based only? If it is derived from any other source it is Lecithin but not Soy lecithin.

Can you please clarify? JAzakillahu khairan ahsanl jazaa.

aseena

Answer:

In the Name of Allah, the Most Gracious, the Most Merciful.

As-salāmu ‘alaykum wa-rahmatullāhi wa-barakātuh.

You are correct. Soy Lecithin is derived from only soybean oil[1] which is a vegetable oil extracted from the seeds of the soybean (Glycine max) – a species of legume derived from plants in East Asia.

Lecithin, itself, is a general term employed for any group of yellow-brownish fatty substances which can encompass animal as well as plant tissue.

The correct sentence should have been:

“Soy Lecithin is permissible and Halal. However, if Lecithin is derived from non-plant based sources such as animal based, then there are many factors to consider before determining the permissibility of such a product, for example, the method of slaughter etc.”

 

And Allah Ta’āla Knows Best

Hanif Yusuf Patel

Student Darul Iftaa
UK

Checked and Approved by,
Mufti Ebrahim Desai.

www.daruliftaa.net

 

Facebooktwitterpinteresttumblrmail
Sidebar