Are we allowed to consume Products that contain Vitamin D3?

Answered according to Hanafi Fiqh by Askimam.org

 

I wanted to ask if we are allowed to consume products that contain vitamin D3 -Sheep wool (lanolin), some say its haram because its not a halal animal and some say its halal because its only from the skin. 

Answer

In the Name of Allah, the Most Gracious, the Most Merciful.

As-salāmu ‘alaykum wa-rahmatullāhi wa-barakātuh.

Vitamin D3 is produced industrially from natural substance like fish organs or from wool grease (lanoline)[1].

Accordingly vitamin D3 is permissible[2]. However, many tablets and supplements contain other ingredients which may not be permissible. Therefore, one should exercise caution when consuming vitamins.

 

 

And Allah Ta’āla Knows Best

Immad Bin Arshad

Student Darul Iftaa
California, USA

Checked and Approved by,
Mufti Ebrahim Desai.

www.daruliftaa.net


[2] النتف في الفتاوى للسغدي (1/ 233)

قَالَ وَيحل من الْميتَة خَمْسَة عشر شَيْئا… وَالشعر

 

أحكام القرآن للجصاص (1/ 304)

وَالدَّلِيلُ عَلَى أَنَّ الشَّعْرَ وَنَحْوَهُ لَا حَيَاةَ فِيهِ ، أَنَّ الْحَيَوَانَ لَا يَأْلَمْ بِقَطْعِهَا ، وَلَوْ كَانَتْ فِيهِ حَيَاةٌ لَتَأَلَّمَ بِقَطْعِهَا كَمَا يُؤْلِمُهُ قَطْعُ سَائِرِ أَعْضَائِهِ ، فَدَلَّ ذَلِكَ عَلَى أَنَّ الشَّعْرَ وَالصُّوفَ وَالْعَظْمَ وَالْقَرْنَ وَالظِّلْفَ وَالرِّيشَ لَا حَيَاةَ فِيهَا ، فَلَا يَلْحَقُهَا حُكْمُ الْمَوْتِ ، وَوُجُودُ النَّمَاءِ فِيهَا لَا يُوجِبُ لَهَا حَيَاةً ؛ لِأَنَّ الشَّجَرَ وَالنَّبَاتَ يَنْمِيَانِ وَلَا حَيَاةَ فِيهِمَا وَلَا يَلْحَقُهُمَا حُكْمُ الْمَوْتِ ، فَكَذَلِكَ الشَّعْرُ وَالصُّوفُ

 

المحيط البرهاني للإمام برهان الدين ابن مازة (2/ 207)

ال أصحابنا رحمهم الله بأن صوف الحيوانات الميتة وعصبها ووبرها وشعرها وعظمها طاهر. ألا ترى أنه يكون على العظم دسم سواء كان مأكول اللحم أو غير مأكول اللحم حتى تجوز الصلاة مع هذه الأشياء عندنا جز قبل الموت أو بعده

Facebooktwitterredditpinterestmail
Sidebar