Is panadol gel caps which contain gelatin halal or not, since i have heard that there is some gelatines made from plants.

Answered according to Hanafi Fiqh by Askimam.org

 

i would like to know if panadol gel caps which contain gelatin is halal or not, since i have heard that there is some gelatines made from plants.

Answer

In the Name of Allah, the Most Gracious, the Most Merciful.

 

Assalāmu ‘alaykum wa rahmatullāhi wa barakātuh

 

Gelatine is made from collagen derived from the skin, bones or other connective tissue of animals.

If the collagen is obtained from an animal that is permissible to eat in the Sharī‘ah (ma’kūl al-lahm), like cow and sheep, and it was slaughtered according to the Islāmic rules of dhabh, gelatine made from it is halāl.

If the collagen comes from an animal that is permissible to eat in Sharī‘ah but it was not slaughtered according to Islāmic principles, gelatine made from it is harām[1], with two exceptions:

  1. If the animal in reference is a fish
  2. If the part of the animal from which the collagen was extracted is bone

In both these cases, the gelatine will be halāl.[2]

If the gelatine is produced from the collagen of an animal that is not permissible to eat in Sharī‘ah (ghayr ma’kūl al-lahm), like pig, it is harām.

Gelatine cannot be made using plants.[3]

And Allah Ta‘ālā Knows Best

Zameelur Rahman

Student Darul Iftaa
UK

Checked and Approved by,
Mufti Ebrahim Desai.

www.daruliftaa.net


[1] Mawlānā Muhammad Ansār Husayn Nadwī:

 

“Gelatin is nothing but raw collagen dissolved in hot water. Collagen is a structural protein found in all animals. It constitutes approximately 90-95% of the total corium of an animal skin. During the manufacture of gelatin, the hair, flesh, nerves, veins, sweat glands, albumins and other proteins are removed from the skins by means of very dilute solutions of acids (approximately 1-5%) or alkalis to leave only the corium layer of the skin.  This skin is then dissolved in hot water to yield gelatin. Collagen which is present in the skin remains collagen itself in its essence even after the treatment with acid or alkali.

 

It is known that the collagen constitutes 90-95% of the corium layer of the skin. Now if the source of the skin is an animal which is Najis-ul-Ain then this 95% part of its skin is also Najis-ul-Ain. This means that during the manufacture of gelatin this Najasah remains in its original form until the skins are ready for boiling. After heating this collagen in water it is converted to gelatin. So the main change occurs during the heating process. Now since the mere boiling of Najis-ul-Ain substance in water is not considered Qalb-ul-Mahiyat in the Islamic Shariah therefore the change of collagen to gelatin cannot be considered Qalb-ul-Mahiyat. This is also substantiated by the fact that gelatin can be obtained by merely boiling the raw skins and bones in water. 

 

In 1681 A.D. gelatin was manufactured by merely boiling raw-skins and bones in water. The highly complicated methods utilized today in the production of gelatin have been evolved just to produce a gelatin with a high purity. Now if the production of gelatin by merely boiling skins in water cannot be considered Qalb-ul- Mahiyat by the Islamic Shariah then how could the production of gelatin by these evolved methods be considered Qalb-ul-Mahiyat after knowing that the resultant product obtained by both of these methods is the same gelatin (according to its essence).

 

This is also substantiated by the fact that gelatin is produced during the cooking of meat. Meat consists of a considerable quantity of collagen in the form of connective tissues. During the cooking process this collagen gets converted into gelatin.

 

Hence the fact that gelatin can be obtained by merely boiling skins in water is enough to prove that Qalb-ul-Mahiyat does not occur in gelatin.”

 

  [2]

عظام الميتة وشعرها وقرنها وظلفها وأسنانها وصوفها ونحو هذه الأجزاء مما لا حياة فيها ملحق بالأنفحة والبيضة واللبن الحاصلة من الميتة التي صرحوا بجواز الأكل منها والإنتفاع بها. للتفصيل في مسائل هذه الأنواع من أجزاء الميتة من حيث الحرمة والحلة راجع كلام الإمام الجصاص الرازي في كتابه “أحكام القرآن” تحت قوله تعالى في سورة البقرة: “إنما حرم عليكم الميتة إلخ”. يظهر من كلامه أن عظم الميتة لا يدخل تحت التحريم المذكور فى الآية بناء على أن التحريم إنما يرد على ما يصلح للأكل، والعظم وغيره لا يصلح للأكل (كالحطب والطين)، والظاهر أن عدم صلاحيته للأكل عادة لا يمنع اتخاذه شيئا مخلوطا فى الطعام. قال في نصاب الإحتساب: أكل الطين مكروه، وذكر الحلواني: إن كان يضر يكره وإن كان يتناوله قليلا أو يفعله أحيانا فلا بأس به، قال العبد: ويقاس على هذا أنه يباح النورة مع الورق المأكول في ديار الهند لأنه قليل نافع فإن الغرض المقصود من الورق المذكور لا يحصل بدونها (نصاب الإحتساب، مكتبة الطالب الجامعي، ص١٤٨)

 

قال الجصاص: ومن حظر هذه الأشياء من الميتة احتج بقوله تعالى: حرمت عليكم الميتة، وذلك يتناولها بجميع أجزائها، فإذا كان الصوف والشعر والعظام ونحوها من أجزائها اقتضت الآية تحريم جميعها، فيقال له: إنما المراد بالأية ما يتأتى فيه الأكل، والدليل عليه قوله تعالى فى الأية الأخرى: قل لا أجد فيما أوحي إلي محرما على طاعم يطعمه، فأخبر أن التحريم مقصور على ما يتأتى فيه الأكل، وقال النبي صلى الله عليه وسلم: إنما حرم من الميتة لحمها، وفي خبر آخر: إنما حرم أكلها، فأبان النبي صلى الله عليه وسلم عن مراد الله تعالى بتحريم الميتة، فلما لم يكن الشعر والصوف والعظم ونحوها مما ذكرنا من المأكول لم يتناولها التحريم (أحكام القرآن، دار إحياء التراث العربي، ج١ ص١٥٠)

 

وفي شرحه على مختصر الطحاوي ألحق العظم ونحوه ببيضة الدجاجة الميتة من حيث علة الإستباحة، فقال:

 

قال (الإمام الطحاوي): ومن ماتت له دجاجة، فخرجت منها بيضة، فلا بأس بأكلها. (انتهى كلامه) والأصل في ذلك أن كل ما يستباح من الحيوان في حال حياته بغير ذكاة، فحاله بعد الموت كهي قبله، وذلك لأنه لا يلحقه حكم الموت، لأنه لو كان يلحقه حكم الموت لما حل له إلا بذكاة الأصل كاللحم وسائر أعضاء الجيوان، لما لحقه حكم الموت بموت الحيوان لم يحله إلا الذكاة. ويدل عليه ما روي عن النبي صلى الله عليه وسلم أنه قال: ما بان من البهيمة وهي حية فهو ميتة. فلما كانت البيضة تبين منها في حال الحياة وليست بميتة علمنا أنها مما لا يلحقه حكم الموت. ولهذه العلة نفسها قلنا فى الشعر والصوف والريش والقرن ونحوها أنها لا تكون ميتة بعد موت الحيوان، لأنها تؤخذ منه في حال حياته، ولا يحتاج فى استباحته إلى ذكاة الأصل، فلا يلحقه حكم الموت إذا، ولا فرق بينه قبل الموت وبعده. (شرح مختصر الطحاوي، دار البشائر الإسلامية، ج١ ص ٢٩٨)

 

الحاصل أن حكم هذه الأشياء لا يتبدل بالذبح، بل تبقى على حالها التي كانت عليها قبل الذكاة، وكما يجوز أكل الشعر بعد الذكاة، فكذلك يجوز أكله قبل الذكاة، فإن حكمه لا يتبدل بها.

 

[3] Does collagen naturally exist in plants? Answer: No, collagen does not naturally exist in plants. Collagen is a group of proteins found in animals only. It is the most abundant protein in mammals, making up about 25% to 35% of the whole-body protein content. Collagen is a predominant component of the connective tissues and exists usually in the form of fibrils. This essential protein is abundantly found in cartilage, skin, blood vessels, intervertebral disc, and other fibrous tissues such as tendon and ligament. (http://www.biocellcollagen.com/faqs)

 

Facebooktwitterredditpinterestmail
Sidebar