Are emulsifiers and medicine capsules halal?

Answered according to Hanafi Fiqh by Askimam.org

 

I have question regarding food/biscuits/capsules (medicine) available in market. If we see ingredients, few food ingredients will have Emulsifier which is generated from animal.

1) Is it allowed to consume such type of food which has ingredients as emulsifier (here if emulsifier is prepared from animal skin or fat)

2) I checked with one Moulana here. He told that if form (shakal -in Urdu) of any animal fat is changed, we can consume it. Please clarify me.

 

3) Most of the capsules are created by animal gelatin. Can we consume capsules? Or we should ask doctors to give tablets/syrup instead of capsule?

Answer

In the Name of Allah, the Most Gracious, the Most Merciful.

As-salāmu ‘alaykum wa-rahmatullāhi wa-barakātuh.

1) There are numerous types of emulsifiers existing today. Some are animal based and some are made from plants.[1] Hence, some will be Halal whereas some will be Haram. Each product will differ depending on what the product is. Therefore, it is best to call the company of that particular product containing emulsifiers and ask if it contains any animal bi-products. If not, then the product will be Halal to consume.

 

2) Your query regarding capsules indicates that you have an option of requesting other tablets and syrups as an alternative. Accordingly, it will not be permissible for you to consume capsules for medication purposes.

 

However, if there is no alternative, then you may use the vegetable capsules found in many stores and pharmacies instead of the animal based capsules. If a Muslim doctor informs you that the animal-based capsules are the only solution for your health, then only will you be able to make use of the animal-based capsules in reference. [2]

 

And Allah Ta’āla Knows Best

AbdulMannan Nizami

Student Darul Iftaa
Chicago, IL, USA
 

Checked and Approved by,
Mufti Ebrahim Desai.

www.daruliftaa.net


[1] Commercial emulsifiers help is the consistency of foodstuffs. It is obtainable from either natural or semi synthetic sources:

1. Natural emulsifiers are Lecithins E322 derived from egg yolks and soya beans

2. Semi synthetic emulsifiers are compounds of mono E47aF and diglycerides E471 that come from either plants or animals. Most of them are from pigs.

[2]  وأما الحديث فقد ذكر قتادة أن «النبي – صلى الله عليه وسلم – أمر بشرب ألبانها دون أبوالها» فلا يصح التعلق به، على أنه يحتمل أن النبي – صلى الله عليه وسلم – عرف بطريق الوحي شفاءهم فيه، والاستشفاء بالحرام جائز عند التيقن لحصول الشفاء فيه، كتناول الميتة عند المخمصة، والخمر عند العطش، وإساغة اللقمة وإنما لا يباح بما لا يستيقن حصول الشفاء به، ثم عند أبي يوسف يباح شربه للتداوي لحديث العرنيين، وعند أبي حنيفة لا يباح؛ لأن الاستشفاء بالحرام الذي لا يتيقن حصول الشفاء به حرام، وكذا بما لا يعقل فيه الشفاء ولا شفاء فيه عند الأطباء، والحديث محمول على أنه – صلى الله عليه وسلم – عرف شفاء أولئك فيه على الخصوص والله أعلم

[بدائع الصنائع في ترتيب الشرائع، كتاب الطهارة، ج١، ص٦١،  دار الكتب العلمية]

 

قال الصدر الشهيد رحمه الله: وفيه نظر؛ لأن لبن الأتان حرام، والاستشفاء بالحرام حرام، وما قاله الصدر الشهيد فهو غير مجرىً على إطلاقه، فإن الاستشفاء بالمحرم إنما لا يجوز إذا لم يعلم أن فيه شفاءً؛ أما إذا علم أن فيه شفاء، وليس له دواء آخر غيره فيجوز الاستشفاء به؛ ألا ترى إلى ما ذكر محمد رحمه الله في كتاب الأشربة إذا خاف الرجل على نفسه العطش، ووجد الخمر شربها إن كان يدفع عطشه؛ لكن يشرب بقدر ما يرويه ويدفع عطشه، ولا يشرب للزيادة على الكفاية

[المحيط البرهاني في الفقه النعماني، الفصل التاسع عشر في التداوي، ج٥، ص٣٧٣، دار الكتب العلمية]

 

مَطْلَبٌ فِي التَّدَاوِي بِالْمُحَرَّمِ (قَوْلُهُ وَرَدَّهُ فِي الْبَدَائِعِ إلَخْ) قَدَّمْنَا فِي الْبَيْعِ الْفَاسِدِ عِنْدَ قَوْلِهِ وَلَبَنُ امْرَأَةٍ أَنَّ صَاحِبَ الْخَانِيَّةِ وَالنِّهَايَةِ اخْتَارَا جَوَازَهُ إنْ عَلِمَ أَنَّ فِيهِ شِفَاءً وَلَمْ يَجِدْ دَوَاءً غَيْرَهُ قَالَ فِي النِّهَايَةِ: وَفِي التَّهْذِيبِ يَجُوزُ لِلْعَلِيلِ شُرْبُ الْبَوْلِ وَالدَّمِ وَالْمَيْتَةِ لِلتَّدَاوِي إذَا أَخْبَرَهُ طَبِيبٌ مُسْلِمٌ أَنَّ فِيهِ شِفَاءَهُ وَلَمْ يَجِدْ مِنْ الْمُبَاحِ مَا يَقُومُ مَقَامَهُ، وَإِنْ قَالَ الطَّبِيبُ يَتَعَجَّلُ شِفَاؤُك بِهِ فِيهِ وَجْهَانِ، وَهَلْ يَجُوزُ شُرْبُ الْعَلِيلِ مِنْ الْخَمْرِ لِلتَّدَاوِي فِيهِ وَجْهَانِ، وَكَذَا ذَكَرَهُ الْإِمَامُ التُّمُرْتَاشِيُّ وَكَذَا فِي الذَّخِيرَةِ وَمَا قِيلَ إنَّ الِاسْتِشْفَاءَ بِالْحَرَامِ حَرَامٌ غَيْرُ مُجْرًى عَلَى إطْلَاقِهِ وَأَنَّ الِاسْتِشْفَاءَ بِالْحَرَامِ إنَّمَا لَا يَجُوزُ إذَا لَمْ يَعْلَمْ أَنَّ فِيهِ شِفَاءً أَمَّا إنْ عُلِمَ وَلَيْسَ لَهُ دَوَاءٌ غَيْرَهُ يَجُوزُ وَمَعْنَى قَوْلِ ابْنِ مَسْعُودٍ – رَضِيَ اللَّهُ عَنْهُ – لَمْ يُجْعَلْ شِفَاؤُكُمْ فِيمَا حُرِّمَ عَلَيْكُمْ يَحْتَمِلُ أَنْ يَكُونَ قَالَ ذَلِكَ فِي دَاءٍ عَرَفَ لَهُ دَوَاءً غَيْرَ الْمُحَرَّمِ لِأَنَّهُ حِينَئِذٍ يَسْتَغْنِي بِالْحَلَالِ عَنْ الْحَرَامِ وَيَجُوزُ أَنْ يُقَالَ تَنْكَشِفُ الْحُرْمَةُ عِنْدَ الْحَاجَةِ فَلَا يَكُونُ الشِّفَاءُ بِالْحَرَامِ وَإِنَّمَا يَكُونُ بِالْحَلَالِ اهـ نُورُ الْعَيْنِ مِنْ آخِرِ الْفَصْلِ التَّاسِعِ وَالْأَرْبَعِينَ

[رد المحتار، فصل في التداوي بالحرام، ج٥، ص٢٢٨، سعيد]

 

[وكذا في البحر الرائق، ج١، ص١٢٢، دار الكتب الاسلامي]

Facebooktwitterpinteresttumblrmail
Sidebar