Are mayonnaise and butter halal.

Answered according to Hanafi Fiqh by Askimam.org

Assalaam alaikum mufti saheb, pls i want to know weather its halal to consume mayonaise and butter?

Answer

Answer:

 

In the Name of Allah, the Most Gracious, the Most Merciful.

 

As-salāmu ‘alaykumwa-rahmatullāhiwa-barakātuh.

 

In principal, mayonnaise and butter will be Halal (permissible) to consume as long as they do not contain any Haram (impermissible) ingredients or E-numbers.

 

An E-number that is used in some butters and mayonnaises’ is E441. This is gelatin and is also known as ‘gelfoam’ and ‘puragel’. The ruling for this E-number is that the gelatin from fish and correctly slaughtered (Halal) beef is considered Halal.Gelatin from pork is Haram.[1]

 

Refer to the following websites for further information. www.sanha.co.za and www.muslimconsumergroup.com.

 

And Allah Ta’āla Knows Best

 

Saanwalibn Muhammad,

Student DarulIftaa
UK   

 

Checked and Approved by,
Mufti Ebrahim Desai.

 

Facebooktwitterredditpinterestmail
Sidebar