Capsules produced from gelatine

Answered according to Hanafi Fiqh by Askimam.org

 

Can I get a ruling on the following information? I bought some vitamins with no gelatin mentioned on the label. I called the manufacturer and here is the reply i received.

“Gelatin is used in the raw materials to impart the characteristics of flow and make it into directly compressible for tableting. It is sourced from beef, pork or a combination of both. In accordance with labeling regulations, gelatin was removed from the labeling because it is considered an incidental ingredient”

Is is ok for us to consume these vitamins or not?

 

Answer

In the Name of Allah, the Most Gracious, the Most Merciful.

As-salāmu ‘alaykum wa-rahmatullāhi wa-barakātuh

In principle, it is not permissible for one to consume tablets/capsules produced from gelatine. If the vitamins are in a capsule made from gelatine and its mention is removed in the label due to it being an incidental ingredient, it will still be Haraam to consume.

 

And Allah Ta’āla Knows Best

 

Ismail Desai,

Darul Iftaa

 

Checked and Approved,

Mufti Ebrahim Desai.


Facebooktwitterredditpinterestmail
Sidebar