Respected Mufti Is it permissible to give vaccines ? These vaccines do not contain haraam ingredients.
In the Name of Allah, the Most Gracious, the Most Merciful.
As-salāmu ‘alaykum wa-rahmatullāhi wa-barakātuh
In principle, it is permissible for one to immunize oneself by taking vaccines which do not contain Haraam and impermissible ingredients.
However, if it is established that a specific vaccine contains impermissible ingredients, then it is only permissible to consume such vaccines provided there is no other Halal alternative and the vaccine is prescribed by a just and pious Muslim health practitioner.
One may search for the complete list of ingredients contained in the vaccine via the patient information leaflet (PIL). One may visit the electronic Medicines Compendium (eMC) website to search for the PIL of a particular vaccine using its brand name.
Certain vaccines contain gelatine which is contained in some vaccines to protect vaccine viruses from adverse conditions such as freeze-drying or heat. Other vaccines contain gelatine derived from pork and human serum albumin. One should search for alternative vaccines which do not contain impermissible ingredients.
And Allah Ta’āla Knows Best
Checked and Approved,
Mufti Ebrahim Desai.
http://www.chop.edu/centers-programs/vaccine-education-center/vaccine-ingredients/gelatin#.Vkl2M3YrKUl, last accessed at 16/11/2015.
http://www.nhs.uk/conditions/vaccinations/pages/vaccine-ingredients.aspx, last accessed on 16/11/2015.