|Answered by Guest|
From seafood, only fish is made Halaal for us. Rasulullah (Sallallaahu
Alayhi Wasallam) said, ‘Two carions are made Halaal for us; Fish and locust.
‘ (Mishkaat vol.2 pg.361). Fish is classified as a Vertebra.
Shrimps and lobsters are not vertebras, hence, not permissible.
Some Ulama are of the opinion that shrimps, etc. are fish, therefore,
permissible. Due to the differences of opinion, it is best to adopt Taqwa
and abstain from eating shrimps, etc. but they cannot be regarded as swine
meat which is expressly Haraam.
Rasulullah (Sallallaahu Alayhi Wasallam) has stated that two forms of Maytah
(unslaughtered animals) are Halaal for us, fish and locusts.
According to the Hanafi Madhab, only fish is Halaal and not all seafoods.
According to the Hanafis, it is only permissible to eat what falls under the category of fish.