Is Ajinomoto Halaal or Haraam?

Assalam alaikum …. whether ajinomoto is halal 0r Haram?

Answer

Answer:

 

In the Name of Allah, the Most Gracious, the Most Merciful.

 

As-salāmu ‘alaykumwa-rahmatullāhiwa-barakātuh.

 

Ajinomoto is a Japanese food and chemical corporation whose signature product is MSG (monosodium glutamate; the sodium salt of glutamic acid). It is also the world’s largest manufacturer of aspartame (a sweetener) and also manufactures other products.

 

The MSG produced in South Africa has been approved by SANHA[1] and is subsequently halal and according to the website www.muslimconsumergroup.com, the MSG produced in the US is also halal as it is kosher certified.[2][3]

 

We do not know about the MSG in India. You should ask some local scholars to investigate the matter and to get in touch with the company and ask about their products.

 

If they do not contain anything haram such as pork based enzymes, it will be halal. You should also try to find out where the MSG is imported from in India. This may help determine whether it is Halal or not. Until further research is carried out, we advise that you abstain from consuming it.

 

And Allah Ta’āla Knows Best

 

Saanwalibn Muhammad,

Student Darul Iftaa
UK   

 

Checked and Approved by,
Mufti Ebrahim Desai.

 



[3]Disclaimer: We do not know the details of the product; however, the muslimconsumergroup organization says the MSG produced in the US is halal.